Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Presidential Primary vote next Tuesday, March 5

A week after the Party Caucuses in Minnesota, voters will go to the polls next Tuesday, March 5, to cast their ballots in the state’s Presidential Primary Election.

The Presidential Primary is limited to candidates from the major parties. For 2024, this means the candidates for the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party and the Republican Party will be on the ballot.

The chair of each party submitted a list of candidates for the party’s ballot to state officials no later than 63 days before the date of the primary. The list submitted cannot be changed so the names on the ballot may include candidates who dropped out of the race after submission, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State office.

Any registered Minnesota voter, who has turned 18 by March 5 can vote in the primary. Voters can register at the polling place on Tuesday.

At the polling place, voters must request the ballot of the party of their choice. If they refuse to select a party they will not be able to vote in the primary. A voter’s choice of party ballot will be recorded and is private data. However, the Secretary of State Office said, a list will be provided to the chair of each of the parties of the voters who selected that party but how the person voted will be secret.

The ballot submitted by the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party will include Jason Palmer, Joseph R. Biden Jr., Eban Cambridge, Uncommitted, Marianne Williamson, Dean Phillips, Frankie Lozada, Gabriel Cornejo, Cenk Uygur, and Armando “Mando” Perez-Serrato.

The ballot submitted by the Republican Party includes Donald J. Trump, Vivek Ramaswamy, Ron DeSantis, Nikki Haley, and Chris Christie.

Both ballots include space for a write-in candidate.

Most polling places are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. However, towns and townships with less than 500 residents are not required to open until 10 a.m.

Polling places, by precinct, in Dodge County include:

Ashland Township, Ashland Town Hall (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)

Canisteo Township, Canisteo Town Hall

Claremont, Claremont City Hall

Claremont Township, American Legion in Claremont (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)

Concord Township, Concord Town Hall

Dodge Center North, South precincts, Dodge Center City Hall

Ellington Township, Ellington Town Hall (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)

Hayfield City, 18 W. Main St.

Hayfield Township, Hayfield Town Hall, (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)

Kasson North, Central, and South Precincts, South Gym, Kasson-Mantorville High School

Mantorville, Mantorville City Hall

Mantorville Township, Mantorville Town Hall

Ripley Township, Ripley Town Hall, (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)

Vernon Township, Vernon Town Hall

Wasioja Township, Wasioja Schoolhouse

West Concord, West Concord City Hall

Westfield Township, Westfield City Hall (10 a.m. to 8 p.m.)


See full story in this week’s print edition or subscribe online. Please subscribe here or current subscribers can login here.

Dodge County Independent

Dodge County Independent
Dodge County ADvantage
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Dodge County Printing
301 S. Mantorville Ave.
Plaza 57 • Suite 200
Kasson, MN 55944

Monday-Thursday 10a.m.-3p.m.